Task Force on Environment

The Task Force on Environment supports the Contracting Parties in their transposition and implementation of the environmental acquis.

The Ministerial Council approved the establishment of the Task Force in 2010 and its mandate has been extended until further notice. Ordinary meetings of the Task Force take place twice a year.

Learn about ongoing activities

Work programme 2024-2025

About the Task Force

  • Tasks


    The Task Force on the Environment focuses on overcoming challenges in the transposition and implementation of the acquis on the environment. This includes assessment and peer review of implementation tools. The Task Force also prepares new environmental acquis for their adoption in the Energy Community.
    After the adoption of Clean Energy Package, the Legal Framework 5.0 edition presents the Energy Community body of law in seven thematic volumes.  Dedicated on environment, the Volume VII groups together the acquis in force, varying from strategic environmental assessment, sulphur in fues quality, obligations under the large combustion plants directive, nature protections areas and environmental damage liability.  


    Current Filters

    Document Name Categories Published on
  • Composition


    The Task Force consists of representatives of the Contracting Parties and Observers as well as the European Union. To ensure a broad knowledge base, participation to the Task Force is also open to other stakeholders, including public authorities, donors, business, investors and representatives of civil society.

    In November 2018, the 51st PHLG confirmed the election of Mr. Daniel Martin-Montalvo, Head of Group for Sustainable resource use and industry of European Environment Agency (EEA), as the new chair of the Task Force. Mr. Jürgen Schneider of the Austrian Environment Agency acted as the first Chair of the Task Force from 2010 to 2018.

Contracting Parties' reports

Emission reduction plans