Energy Community adopts Clean Energy Package

30 November 2021

The Energy Community Ministerial Council adopted the Clean Energy for all Europeans package at its meeting in Belgrade today under the presidency-in-office of the Republic of Serbia. The package covers legislation in the area of energy efficiency, renewables, governance, electricity market design and electricity security of supply rules, to enter into force in the next years.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Mining and Energy of Serbia, H.E. Zorana Mihajlovic, said: “Today’s energy package will boost the clean energy transition and modernize our energy systems as well as our economies. I am particularly proud that it was adopted under the Serbian Presidency of the Energy Community. The new legislative acts will help the Energy Community to gradually transition away from fossil fuels and contribute to the achievement of a carbon neutral Europe by 2050. It’s important that cutting emissions does not result in cutting jobs and this package will help us achieve that by unlocking opportunities of the clean energy revolution”.

Deputy Director-General for Energy at the European Commission, Mechthild Wörsdörfer, said: "With the adoption of today’s package, a modern, clean and secure energy system will become a reality in the Energy Community. The Package establishes a stable regulatory and market framework to stimulate the necessary public and private investments and modernised rules to unlock new business opportunities. Furthermore, the package puts forward measures to protect vulnerable consumers, to tackle energy poverty and to empower consumers to actively participate in the energy transition.”

The Council also adopted the Decarbonisation Roadmap for the Contracting Parties of the Energy Community, a political document outlining the sequence of adoption, transposition and implementation of decarbonisation-focused rules in order to put the Contracting Parties on a path towards achieving 2030 and mid-century decarbonisation targets. Furthermore, the Council adopted Gas Security of Supply Regulation 2017/1938. 

In his speech, the outgoing Director of the Energy Community Secretariat Janez Kopač expressed his thanks all Parties for their cooperation.

The Ministerial Council thanked Mr Kopač for his dedication and commitment to the Energy Community during his nine-year tenure as Director of the Energy Community Secretariat and welcome Mr Artur Lorkowski who was appointed as the next Director of the Secretariat.