EU4Energy: Covenant of Mayors East

Energy efficiency Electricity Renewable energy

Beneficiary Countries:

  • Armenia Armenia
  • Belarus Belarus
  • Georgia Georgia
  • Moldova Moldova
  • Ukraine Ukraine

Donation passport

Donor/IFI: EIB
Starting Year: 2016
Ending Year: 2020
Budget: 14.2 mil. EUR
Type of Donation: Technical assistance and investment grants
Status: Closed

Lead Donor Contact

CoM East Regional Office

Short description of the overall project

The programme supports small towns that have signed up to the Covenant of Mayors initiative to implement energy efficiency projects identified within their Sustainable Energy Action Plans (SEAPs), with grants as well as technical assistance.

The programme aims to bridge the gap between Sustainable Energy Action Plans and their practical implementation in selected municipalities with less than 200,000 inhabitants, through the implementation of demonstration projects. The programme addresses the limited technical and financial capacities of municipalities that have signed up to the Covenant of Mayors, but are not able to finance the measures described in their action plans from their own budget.


Short description of activities financed by the donation

Grants awarded to 19 selected projects,(11 projects in Ukraine, 3 in Moldova, 3 in Belarus, 1 in Armenia and 1 in Georgia) – grants range between 400,000 EUR and 1.2 mil. EUR. The selected projects focus on energy savings through:

  • Building refurbishment;
  • Upgrading district heating systems;
  • Introducing energy-efficient street lighting;
  • Upgrading public transport;
  • Improving energy efficiency in (waste) water systems.
  • Technical, procedural, communication and networking assistance provided by the programme Support Team, including individual consultations, trainings and other supporting actions.

As a result of a competition organised by the EU in 2017, 14 new projects were selected for the second round of the Covenant of Mayors – Demonstration Projects programme. The projects will be implemented in 15 municipalities across five Eastern Partners countries. There will be six projects in Ukraine, three in Moldova, two in Belarus and Armenia, and one in Georgia. Many of the selected projects will involve retrofitting public buildings, increasing energy efficiency, modernising public lighting and developing the renewable energy sector. All projects started in 2018 and be implemented over the course of the next two to three years.