EU4Energy Governance

The EU4Energy Programme Phase II was launched by the European Union, as part of its Regional Action Programme – East. The action builds on the work of the EU4Energy Programme Phase I and the lessons learnt from it. Implemented by the International Energy Agency, the Energy Community Secretariat and the Energy Charter Secretariat, EU4Energy Phase I was active between 2016 and 2020. 

The new phase spans between 2021 and 2024, and the first implementation actions will start to take place as of July 2021. The project will be managed and implemented from a budget of EUR 1 894 796 by the Secretariat via a dedicated unit specially assigned for this task.

The objective of EU4Energy Project Phase II is to foster the clean energy transition and decarbonisation in Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine and to contribute to the post 2020 Eastern Partnership architecture. These countries have already signed Association Agreements, including a Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area (DCFTA), with the EU in the energy sector and they have a status of Contracting Parties within the scope of the Energy Community Treaty. The action will provide support through evidence-based energy policy design and through a transposition and implementation of the Energy Community acquis / DCFTA / EU best practice legal framework.


The scope of the EU4Energy - Governance Project Phase II is to:
Supporting transposition and implementation of energy acquis
Monitoring energy legislation implementation
Capacity building
In terms of geographical scope, the Phase II beneficiary countries are:


The EU4Energy Governance Project Phase II will primarily support the ministries responsible for energy policy, as well as other relevant ministries and agencies: Ministries responsible for economy, regional development, industry, environment, transport, new technologies and corresponding parliamentary (or relevant legislative authority) committees, TSOs and DSOs for electricity and gas; national regulatory authorities, national statistical institutes/offices, energy agencies or funds.  

Phase II: 2021 – 2024

geographic region


Georgia Moldova Ukraine Austria Office Georgia Office Ukraine Office
EU4Energy Governance Countries
EU4Energy Governance Offices
Energy Community Contracting Parties
Energy Community Observers
European Union

Contact Information

Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development                             
Tbilisi, 0105 Sanapiro str. Nr.2
Tel: +995322357804

Send e-mail
Visit website



Georgian National Energy and Water Supply Regulatory Commission
19 A. Mitskevichi Street, Tbilisi
Tel: +995322420180

Send e-mail
Visit website

Contact Information

Ministry of Energy and Coal Industry 

30 Khreshchatyk street
01601 Kyiv
(+38 044) 221 4364

Send e-mail
Visit website







National Electricity Regulatory Commission

19 Smolensk street
03057 Kyiv
(+38 044) 241 9001

Send e-mail
Visit website


National Power Company UKRENERGO

25 Symona Petliury street
01032 Kiev
(+38 044) 238 3825

Send e-mail
Visit website

Contact Information

Ministry of Economy and Infrastructure

1 Piata Adunarii Nationale
MD-2033 Chisinau
(+373 22) 270 029

Send e-mail
Visit website






National Energy Regulatory Agency

90 Columna street
MD-2012 Chisinau 
(+373 22) 541 384

Transmission System Operator, Moldelectrica

78 V. Alecsandri street
MD-2012 Chisinau
(+373 22) 253 487

Contact Information

Energy Community Secretariat
Eastern Partnership Assistance Unit

Am Hof 4
1010 Vienna
(+431) 535 2222



Contact Information

EU4Energy Regional Office
for Moldova and Ukraine

15/65 Khreschatyk street 
01001 Kyiv 
(+38 044) 394 5831






Contact Information

EU4Energy Regional office for Georgia

2 Sanapiro street, 0114 Tbilisi


Work Programmes: setting the targets, tasks and timelines

Work Programmes 2021 - 2024

EU4Energy Phase II contact

EU4Energy Team


This content was produced with the financial support of the European Union. Its contents are the sole responsibility of the Energy Community Secretariat and do not necessarily reflect the views of the European Union.