EU4Energy Governance supports energy efficiency in Georgia

EU4Energy Governance undertakes to support Georgian authorities in developing an Energy Performance of Buildings Law compliant with the provisions of Directive 2010/31/EU on Energy Performance of Buildings.

On 11 September 2017, representatives of the Georgian Ministry of Energy, Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources Protection, Ministry of Education and Science, National Statistics office, Union of Architects and other stakeholders gathered together with representatives of the Energy Community Secretariat to discuss the initial findings of the gap analysis of Georgian legislation vis-à-vis EU energy performance of buildings standards and assistance in the development of a complaint Energy Performance of Buildings Law within the framework of the EU4Energy Governance project.

Georgia is at the very start of adopting European energy efficiency policy and legislation after joining the Energy Community in July 2017. Its national legislation and regulations on energy efficiency in buildings are underdeveloped and not aligned with the Energy Community acquis. The technical assistance provided will tackle transposition of the Energy Performance of Buildings Law requirements into national law and selection of an overall national approach to implementation. The transposition deadline for Directive 2010/31/EU on the energy performance of buildings for Georgia is 30 June 2019.

It is expected that the new regulations will enforce straightforward energy efficiency rules and requirements in buildings, to foster reduced energy use in buildings, availability of quality information for consumers on the energy performance of their homes and ways to improve it, as well as innovation in the building sector.

This project is part of the EU4Energy Initiative which covers all EU support for evidence-based energy policy-making and energy efficiency in the region of the Eastern Partnership, which brings together the EU, its member states and six partner countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine. 

Kick-off meeting

11 September in Tbilisi