updated: 29 May 2017


The Energy Community is an international organisation dealing with energy policy. The organisation was established by an international treaty in Oct 2005 in Athens, Greece. The Treaty entered into force in Jul 2006. The  Treaty establishing the Energy Community  brings together the European Union, on one hand, and countries from the South East Europe and Black Sea region.


The key aim of the organisation is to extend the EU internal energy market to South East Europe and beyond on the basis of a legally binding framework. Our objectives are to:

Attract investment in power generation and networks to ensure stable and continuous energy supply that is essential for economic development and social stability;

Create an integrated energy market allowing for cross-border energy trade and integration with the EU market;

Enhance the security of supply;

Improve the environmental situation in relation with energy supply in the region; and

Enhance competition at regional level and exploit economies of scale.

 Energy Community Fact Sheet





* This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.


Contracting Parties

Presently the Energy Community has 8 Contracting Parties - Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo*, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia and Ukraine. Whilst founding members to the Treaty establishing the Energy Community in 2005, Bulgaria and Romania joined the European Union in 2007. This was also the case with Croatia as of 1 Jul 2013.


European Union

The European Union is a Party to the Energy Community Treaty. Represented by the European Commission, it serves as a permanent Vice-President of the organisation. At the same time, any European Union Member State may obtain the status of a Participant. Participants have the right to take part in all institutional meetings of the Energy Community. Presently as many as 20 European Union Member States have the Participant status.


Armenia, Georgia, Norway and Turkey take part as Observers. Observers may attend the meetings of the Ministerial Council, the Permanent High Level Group, the Regulatory Board and the Fora.



Negotiations for Georgia to become a full fledged member of the Energy Community were launched in Feb 2014. The ministers took the decision on Georgia's accession in Oct 2016. Georgia is now in the process of completing its internal procedures for the approval of the accession to the Energy Community.



 Refer to the Members-section





A strong institutional setting supports the process. Whilst the Ministerial Council meets once a year, the Permanent High Level Group meetings take place every three months. The Energy Community Regulatory Board brings the national regulators from the region around one table. Conceived as discussion platforms,  advisory Fora in the area of electricity, gas and oil complement the process. With its seat in Vienna, the Secretariat is the only permanently acting institution.


All the Parties to the Treaty contribute to the Energy Community budget, out of which 94,5 % originates from the European Union.

 Refer to the Institutions-section