updated: 24 May 2016



The Treaty establishing the Energy Communty created a set of common institutions and a legal framework within which these institutions operate. It also defined the rights and obligations of the Parties to the Treaty. In the following, the legal framework established by and under the Treaty will be described.


Energy Community Legal Framework



For the sake of best possible overview, the Secretariat compiles the prevailing Energy Community legal framework under one cover. The publication consists of three parts. Whilst Part I replicates the Treaty establishing the Energy Community, Part II lists the complete Energy Community acquis communautaire in force. Part III displays key Energy Community secondary legislation.

The publication has been compiled for reference purposes only and is not authentic. The present Third Edition was published Aug 2013. The parts on electricity and gas legislation now consolidate the amendments resulting from the adoption of the Third Package and the respective Ministerial Council decision adapting it. The text of the new Renewable Energy Directive also incorporates the adaptations made by the Ministerial Council decision.






The section begins with the reproduction of the Treaty and its four Annexes. The recent High Reflection Group Report is the starting point for the discussion about the Treaty and its possible reforms.  The  Energy Community acquis, in return, lists the legal acts in force that the Parties to the Treaty are to implement. The section also displays decisions,  procedural acts and opinions enacted so far by the diverse Energy Community institutional organs.