Second Energy and Climate Technical Working Group pushes ahead with 2030 Energy Community targets methodology

9 October 2018

The second Energy and Climate Technical Working Group took place today at the Energy Community Secretariat. The revised report on an EU-convergent approach for the calculation of the 2030 targets and its findings were presented by TU Wien, Joanneum Research and REKK and discussed with Contracting Parties representatives, technical experts, the European Commission and civil society.

The core objective of the study is to develop a methodology and to conduct a quantitative assessment to show pathways for achieving calculated 2030 energy efficiency, renewables and GHG emissions reduction targets that can be expected under aligned framework conditions in the Energy Community Contracting Parties. Discussions stressed the timeliness and significance of a consensus on the 2030 target setting and indicate that further work at technical level is needed for the development of a methodology that adequately reflects an equal ambition level to the EU.

The second session of the meeting, organized in cooperation with Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ), was dedicated to the template logic of integrated National Energy and Climate Plans (NECPs) and in particular to gaining an understanding of key elements necessary for their analytical basis. The Energy Community Contracting Parties have already adopted a Recommendation on preparing for the development of the integrated National Energy and Climate Plans and started to engage in the preliminary aspect of their development. 

Discussions were intense and constructive; all Contracting Parties were present and provided their insights and comments. Beyond the national focal points on energy and climate, participants included academics and technical experts from the national academies of sciences as well as representative from the European Commission (DG ENER), GIZ, the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA), the Austrian Environmental Agency, Klima Politika, the Nature Conservancy, Association for Sustainable Development (ASOR), European Climate Foundation (ECF) and CAN Europe.