



Meeting of Energy Community Parliamentary Plenum

Minutes

24 April 2018, European Parliament

Brussels, Belgium

The meeting was opened by Prof Jerzy Buzek, Chairman of Committee on Industry, Research and Energy, who co-chaired the meeting together with Goran Milevski, Chairman of Committee on Economy, Assembly of former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Chairman of Energy Community Parliamentary Plenum.

In his remarks, Mr Buzek welcomed the Joint Energy Community Parliamentary Plenum Report on Security of Energy Supply in the Energy Community Region adopted on 19 December 2017 in Vienna and thanked the co-rapporteurs, Mr Claude Turmes, European Parliament, and Mr Lev Pidlisetskyy, Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine, for their dedication. Prof Buzek welcomed the initiative of the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia to focus the next report of the Plenum on renewable energy. He briefed the plenum on the state of play of the adoption of the EU Clean Energy Package and shared the experience of Poland in preparing for EU accession in the areas of energy and environment.

In his statement, Mr Goran Milevski presented the current situation as regards the use of renewable energy in his country and in the Energy Community as a whole. He underlined that further steps needed to be taken, namely the full implementation of Directive 2009/28/EC on the promotion of the use of energy from renewable sources. He noted that special attention should be given to the part of the Directive that deals with the use of renewables in the transport sector as negligible progress has been achieved in this area so far. He emphasised the importance of the Members of Parliament and the Energy Community Parliamentary Plenum in promoting the need for increased use of energy from renewable sources.

Mr Janez Kopač, Director of the Energy Community Secretariat, presented the state of play of renewable energy in the Energy Community. According to the Secretariat's most recent assessment, two Contracting Parties have already met their 2020 renewable energy targets, two are on track, whilst four are below the trajectory¹. The Director presented the Secretariat's initiatives to stimulate the uptake of renewables, including the Policy Guidelines to assist Energy Community members in the design and implementation of competitive selection processes for supporting renewables, designed together with the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development in collaboration with the International Renewable Energy Agency. The presentation is available on the Energy Community website².

At a roundtable discussion on accelerating the sustainable deployment of renewable energy in the Energy Community, Members of the European Parliament, including rapporteurs on legislation within the Clean Energy Package, welcomed the opportunity to exchange views on issues of common interest and underlined the importance of strengthening inter-parliamentary cooperation in order to more effectively respond to common challenges. The focus of the discussion was how to ensure a smooth transition to a greater proportion of renewable energy

¹ Due to its accession to the Energy Community only in 2017 and the need for improved energy statistical data, Georgia does not have an obligation to adopt a binding renewable energy target by 2020. ² <u>https://www.energy-community.org/dam/jcr:c0d2604e-68e0-4f7f-ac7e-</u>

⁴a1e3ca349ea/ECPP_ECS_RES_042018.pdf.

Minutes of the Meeting



in the energy mix. Having a well-functioning regional electricity market in place was recognised as key. Members of Parliament also shared their experiences with moving away from feed-in tariffs towards allocating support based on a system of auctions.

The next meeting of the Plenum will take place in Skopje on 17 October, back-to-back to the Energy Community Ministerial Council. The meeting is scheduled to adopt the report on stimulating the uptake of renewable energy sources under the chairmanship of former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia. The co-rapporteur from the European Parliament will be Mr Claude Turmes.

Meeting of the Energy Community Delegation with the Committee on Industry, Research and Energy of the European Parliament

Following the Plenum meeting, Members participated in a debate on the Energy Community, which was part of the regular meeting of the Committee on Industry Research and Energy of the European Parliament. The meeting was co-chaired by Prof Jerzy Buzek, Chairman of the Committee and Mr Hans-Olaf Henkel, Vice-Chair. During the meeting, Members of the European Parliament and the Energy Community Parliamentary Plenum exchanged views on recent developments within the pan-European energy market.

The Director of the Energy Community Secretariat presented the state of play of implementation of the Third Energy Package, the Renewables Directive and legislation on energy efficiency. He outlined a number of critical issues which had to be tackled in order to pave way for a clean energy transition in the Energy Community. He underlined that the Energy Community must not get left behind in the clean energy transition and that the process of setting 2030 Energy Community targets has to move forward. The presentation is available on the Energy Community website³.

During the discussion, it was underlined that the lack of capital or expensive capital should not hinder the uptake of renewables. Taking into account solidarity with EU neighbouring countries which are part of the same internal energy market, access to capital for the uptake of renewables in the Energy Community should be improved.

The meeting was followed by a dinner discussion on the deployment of renewable energy sources in the Energy Community in the presence of Claude Turmes, Member of the European Parliament; Jonathan Bullock, Member of the European Parliament; Megan Richards, Director of Energy Policy, European Commission; Harry Boyd-Carpenter, Director of Power and Energy Utilities, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development; and other guests.

RECORD OF ATTENDANCE

Members: Edward Shalsi (Albania), Kakhaber Kutchava (Georgia), Sala Berisha-Shala (Kosovo*), Dardan Sejdiu (Kosovo*), Hari Lokvenec (FYR of Macedonia), Goran Milevski (FYR of Macedonia)

³ <u>https://www.energy-community.org/dam/jcr:08d72c85-785f-4a49-9cd7-</u> 9a0d4393eb72/ECPP_ECS_ITRE_042018.pdf.





Alternative Members: Endri Hasa (Albania), Predrag Kožul (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Ljilja Zovko (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Agim Shakjiri (FYR of Macedonia), Žarko Mićin (Serbia), Snežana R. Petrović (Serbia), Lev Pidlesetsky (Ukraine)

Members of European Parliament: Jerzy Buzek (Poland), Barbara Kappel (Austria), Peter Kouroumbashev (Bulgaria), Seán Kelly (Ireland), Zigmantas Balčytis (Lithuania), Algirdas Saudargas (Lithuania), Clare Moody (UK)

Energy Community Secretariat: Janez Kopač, Barbora Poyner

Parliamentary Secretariats: Aleksandra Balać, Besim Haliti, Hannes Kugi, Nenad Pandurević, Amila Žujo